Mignon

It was just like the big fashion shows held all over the world. Just… smaller. In dimensions that is, rather than in popularity and importance. The Fairy Fashion Week had come to Dublin once more, and Eric Anderson had finally made it there.

“All right, I know I’m a new designer,” he was saying to his models, an assortment of fairies both male and female, “but I’m grateful for this opportunity, so if there’s anything I can do to help you models out, just let me know and I’ll do my best to accommodate you. I’ve got exciting designs here, and I hope we’ll all make a big impact.”

A hand shot up from amongst them, belonging to a slender looking woman with golden hair that glinted in the dressing room lighting. “I have a question, one of the assistants said my main outfit was being kept somewhere safe?”

“Ah, you’re Shalida, yes?” Eric smiled. “Yes, I can take you to see it now, if you want?” On seeing her nod, he waited for her to flutter over on iridescent wings. The fairy settled gently on his shoulder, and with a nod of thanks to the others he headed off for his secure room.

It took several types of keys to get through all the locks, both on the door in and then in the safe. Flying off his shoulder, she sat cross-legged as he opened the small wall safe. Her jaw dropped as the light hit the item inside. A beautiful dress of red hung on a tiny clothes hanger, glinting from the tiny shards of gemstone forming each ‘petal’ of the material. Thin straps would work to support the shoulders, and it trailed off into a split leg design over the left leg.

“This is going to be my dress?” Shalida gasped, wings humming away from excitement.

“Yes, I trained as a jeweller before I got into designing clothing, and… well…” He trailed off, watching the model dart about as she ogled it.

“This is fit for royalty! It must have taken you ages!” She exclaimed, before turning to beam up at him, eyes glinting a merry silver. “What’s it called?”

“It’s the Ruby Mignon evening dress. You like it?” Eric smiled.

She shook her head. “Like? I love it! It’ll go great with my hair!” Her fingers were already going for the ties on the silk green summer dress she had on. “Can I try it on?”

“Of course! I’ve only seen it on a mannequin before.” Eric replied, carefully averting his eyes, much to her amusement. And when she flew up into view, sparkling in the light from her dress, he knew he was on to a winning design.

“How do I look?” She asked, carefully turning and posing as her wings maintained a steady beat.

“You said it yourself, Shalida; like royalty.”

Leave a Reply

