Bedtime Story

The little girl looked up at her father as she was tucked into bed and asked: “Tell me a bedtime story.”

Ever the diligent father, he knelt down besides the bed and nodded, looking thoughtful as he pondered on a suitable story. He smiled as it came to mind. “I have the perfect one.”

She snuggled against the pillow as she waited, excited for the beginning.

“Once upon a time, there was a little girl who asked her father for a bedtime story. So, he said ‘Once upon a time, there was a little girl who asked her father for a bedtime story. So, he said ‘Once upon a time, there was a little girl who asked her father for a bedtime story. So, he said ‘Once upon a time, there was a little girl who asked her father for a bedtime story. So, he said ‘Once upon a time, there was a…”

He chuckled softly, watching his daughter sleeping soundly in bed. Rising carefully to avoid the squeaking floorboards, he switched the bedside lamp off and slipped out of the room.

(Author’s Note – This used to be a favourite trick of my father when I was much, much younger. It always made me laugh and soon put me to sleep. The power of recursion.)

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Story

  1. I think we might be sisters. My dad had one:

    “One dark, stormy night, three robbers sat in a cave. And one said to the other, ‘Tell me a story, Bill!’ – so Bill began…’One dark, stormy night…'”

    Same effect – never failed to knock me out!

    x

Leave a Reply

